The birthday syndrome, the disaster that is of getting old


growing old
sigh… im getting older and older every year ofcourse… birthdays should not be celebrated, it’s a reminder that we are getting closer to the invetitable death, and our lifespans are slowly diminishing… every day counts now. I am not happy that my date of birth is in 3 days. Another reason I should hate the date is that I’m gonna spend money just to celebrate the day… I know I know, I really dont have to spend, buo be with myt its required.. and I guess that I want friends and family so its a given that I’m going to empty my wallet pretty soon. Second, is the planning… I hate planning I’d rather be the one who will enjoy the event that’s already been planned.. And lastly, birthdays are a reminder for me that my life achievements is nothing but a joke. What have I done this year? I’ve never been productive, but I’ve been Imaginitive. Yet again I’m reminded of how petty my life is…. here I am again with self-pity. Oh well, I really wish my day is something to be remembered…

Sigh… I’m getting older and older every year, an inevitability that is sometimes frightening. Not that I am so old now… I am still in my mid twenties, but still… thinking about getting older, getting wrinkles and all the stuff that goes along with aging is darn frustrating, and yet a lot of people celebrate birthdays?!

Frankly speaking, It should be made law that birthdays should not be celebrated! It’s a reminder that we are getting closer to our death, our lifespans are slowly diminishing every minute! (Paranoid much?) Maybe we can call it the birthday syndrome. I am really not happy that in 3 days I’ll add another year to my pathetic life . Seriously, another reason I should hate that day is that I’m gonna spend money just to celebrate it with people… I know I know, I really dont have to spend, nobody is bullying me to out some cash, but my friends and family expects me to… and also, I guess that I want to spend that day with them, so I won’t be forced to mope around my house and count the days of my coming doom. Ha! I am so weird.

Sooo its a given that I’m going to empty my wallet pretty soon. And the second thing I despise about birthdays, are the planning… I hate planning I’d rather be the one who will just enjoy the event. If only someone in my family or friends who is willing enough to do all those things. And buying an outfit for the event is also another thing to think of, makes me think that I’m so fat and nothing fits right. Lastly, birthdays are a reminder for me that my life achievements is nothing but a joke. What have I done this year? I admit I’ve never been productive enough and there’s nothing worth bragging about. And I’m reminded of how petty my life is…. here I am again with self-pity. Oh well, I really wish that my birthday is something to be remembered if not for me atleast for others who will enjoy it… not that I won’t have fun I guess I would–atleast.

Geez I am a disturbed and confused nut. @_@


Happy birthday! We’re all gonna die soon!

4 Responses to “The birthday syndrome, the disaster that is of getting old”

  1. Intimately, the post is actually the freshest on this deserving topic. I agree with your conclusions and will thirstily look forward to your incoming updates. Saying thanks will not just be sufficient, for the exceptional clarity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates.Fabulous work and much success in your business enterprise!Thank you.

  2. Hi. I was googling for post-birthday syndrome when I stumble to your entry. I totally feel for you. You put into words exactly and almost everything I can not say about the melancholy of celebrating and incrementing additional year to our age. I have my own entry about this too last year I think. I just had my birthday two weeks ago and surprisingly though things aren’t going well in my favor, it seems that I already graduated from this. Well, so far. Let’s see what happens next year. :))

  3. in few hours, im gonna be celebrating my birthday… and i’m having this birthday syndrome too… oh well, happy birthday to me.. =/

  4. HAI GREAT FELLOW………YOU SAID EXACT WORDS ………DURING MY CHILDHOOD ONLY I CELEBRATED THOSE THE SO CALLED B’DAYS………………..NOW I HATE B’DAY WISHES TOOOOO…….S S IT MUST COME AS A LAW……… FARAZ


Leave a Reply

